charred corn + tomato salad

This recipe… I’m just gonna go ahead and say it.

One of the best things I’ve ever made.

SO GOOD. You know those times you taste a food and the second it touches your tongue you close your eyes and let out a slow sigh and just savor it. You chew slowly. You wonder how you’ve ever survived life without it. 

This is that. 

I could eat it for breakfast, lunch and dinner. By itself. Like all the best recipes, this is all about the balance. Summer food at its finest. Fresh-shucked sweet corn, grilled til it’s blistered. Chopped farmer’s market tomatoes. Basil and thyme. Lots of tangy lime juice. Diced spicy red onion. Feta. Salt. I’m drooling just thinking about it.

Every time I make it, Ryan and I try not to eat it all so we have some for dinner the next night. 

Every time, we fail miserably. 

I think to the end of summer when all the fresh corn is gone, and I have to start buying tomatoes from the grocery store again, and it makes me want to go breathe into a paper bag. 

Ok, enough. Here’s the recipe. I hijacked it from Bon Apetit and tweaked it just a bit. Added feta. Chopped everything a little smaller. Didn’t use all the oil, because it’s delicious without it. And I can eat more and feel less guilty, which is really the ultimate goal here. 

The ratios aren’t super important… I’ve made it with more or less corn, more or less tomatoes, more or less herbs. Every version tastes great. Make it with what you have, taste, adjust. Do not be tempted to leave out the thyme because you think thyme and basil MIGHT be weird together. I almost did the first time. The thyme/basil combo is perfect.

 

charred corn + tomato salad

8 ears fresh corn, shucked

two large really good tomatoes, chopped 

~15 fresh basil leaves, julienned

~ 1 tbsp. fresh thyme (I’ve used dried, in a pinch. If so, reduce to 1/2 tsp. ish.. taste and adjust)

~ 1/2 c crumbled feta

~ 1/2 c diced red onion (if your onion is super strong, soak it in cold water for a few seconds then pull it out. reduces the bite a bit)

juice of two limes (ish)

salt + pepper to taste

Very lightly oil your corn, or spray it with cooking spray, and throw it on a hot grill. Watch carefully; it’ll start charring fast. Roll it around til most of it has blistered. Remove from grill and cut it off the cob. This is brilliant and the method I use every time. 

Throw all ingredients into a bowl and mix. TASTE. Does it need more lime? More salt? Adjust.

Leave a comment